A Hasty Looking Forward Post: Second Looks & more

31 May

Y’all:

I’m swamped. The ol’ theatre company is opening a weekend concert thing tonight and I have six or seven instruments to tune. So I have no excuse to be writing Upcoming Movie posts for an as-yet-undetermined audience. So this will be brief & unadorned.

secondlooks_apt_678x230_042920130335

I need not mention that Second Looks begins at 8:00 p.m. on TCM tonight. But I just did. Tonight: three I’ve been looking forward to (Elaine May’s A New Leaf; Those Lips, Those Eyes; Absolute Beginners) and one I loved as a kid (1941). Watch them. They all sound worthy of inclusion.

phantom-tollbooth1Also, Saturday, June 1 at 9:00 a.m., another neglected full-length Chuck Jones animated feature, The Phantom Tollbooth, based on the Norton Juster book (allegedly for kids). Don’t say there’s nothing to do in the Doldrums…

the-court-jester-basil-rathbone-danny-kaye-glynis-johns-1956While I’m at it, I should note that the perfect double feature that is The Court Jester and The Adventures of Robin Hood will begin at 8:00 p.m. Sunday, June 2. There is no reason not to watch that. Unless you’re playing ukulele in a variety show jumpsuit for a confused crowd of theatregoers…

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

