Looking Forward: Never Too Late (1965)

15 May
Never Too Late (1965)

This one captions itself.

I’m vaguely aware of the existence of Never Too Late as a playscript, but this has remained off my radar otherwise. Why is it on my radar now? Well:

a) because it’s being televised on TCM this Friday, May 17 at 6:00 p.m. (a warmup to “Second Looks”);

b) my yearning to see character actors in leading roles wants very much to watch Paul Ford (The Music Man’s Mayor Shinn, Sgt. Bilko’s Col. Hall, big fancy rich man Ballinger in my childhood love A Big Hand for the Little Lady) running the show in this sort-of pre-All in the Family turn from producers Norman Lear and directed by Bud Yorkin; and

c) my anthropological fascination with mid-twentieth-century comedy as cultural document will be indulged.

So, I’m in.

See you back here sometime after that.

Leave a Reply

