Looking Forward: Gay Purr-ee (1962)

5 May
Gay Purr-ee (1962)

…this also makes me want to see “Shinbone Alley” again…

I saw this once when I was maybe ten, at my grandmother’s house (whence came much of my early old movie love), but never since then. The UPA/late-era Chuck Jones style of animation has always had a hold on me – that magic and awkward age of hand animation during which do-it-cheaper and make-cheaper-an-aesthetic-choice were doing a particularly notable tango.

Much is made of the participation of Robert Goulet and Judy Garland, but my only non-visual memories of this are of Morey Amsterdam and Thurl Ravenscroft, which says more about me than about any of them.

But despite my profound allergy to cat dander, an Arlen/Harburg score is nothing to sneeze at and I’ll be happy to see what (if any) submerged memories resurface upon an adult viewing.

Gay Purr-ee airs Wednesday, May 8 at 11:15 a.m. on TCM. See you back here after.

Leave a Reply

