To begin with…

26 Apr

…people often ask me to recommend movies for them. Not as often as I offer recommendations. But still.

Case in point: a blog.

There are plenty of sources for fact and for insightful critique. So that won’t be here. What will? Who can say. I will mention that I lean toward movies made before my birth (1973); I have a deeper love for character actors than stars; I would rather talk about things I enjoy than things I don’t; I think comedy is under-appreciated, and the word “appreciate” has many meanings. So this will reflect that.

I also have a couple of nephews in the 11-13 range, a couple of nieces in the 4-7 range, all four of whom have avuncular movie nonsense forced upon them; and a wife with whom I watch a lot of Turner Classic Movies (which, besides weather emergency reports, is the sole reason we pay for cable.)

I have no earthly idea who will read this. But I hope to post weekly a) something I already love and b) something I’m looking forward to/just saw. Initially, anyway, because one has to start someplace, I’ll be seeking a) and b) the TCM listings for the coming week.

Cheers!

4 Responses to “To begin with…”

  1. Sally Phennicie April 28, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

    OMG, I’ve seen these movies!! Keep it up…the commentary alone, is worth a million…

  2. Amy May 1, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

    I’m reading it…and I’m with mom, I love most of these! I think you left me some of the “Four Daughters” films in NH…maybe I’ll check them out this weekend!

    Plus….mom, you know what “OMG” means????

    • baldmanwithacowlick May 1, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

      I’m pretty sure the 3 “real” entries in the Lemp Saga (“A New Lemp,” “The Lempire Strikes Back,” and Return of May Robson”) are on your spindle, yes. Ideal crochet fodder.

Leave a Reply

